Teacher Advisory Board | Teen Ink

Teacher Advisory Board

The Teen Ink Teacher Advisory Board is comprised of more than 175 secondary school teachers in 43 states. These educators actively use Teen Ink Magazine in their classrooms and serve as volunteer liaisons and advisors to Teen Ink.


How Can I Join the Teacher Advisory Board?

Becoming a Teacher Advisory Board member is easy. Write to us at Teen Ink, Box 30, Newton, MA 02461; call 617-964-6800; or email teacherboard@teenink.com

Membership Requirements

The only requirements for board membership are that you are an active subscriber to Teen Ink and you are willing to have your contact information listed on our website and/or magazine.

Board Opportunities

Advisory Board members serve on a volunteer basis only. There are no financial obligations, time commitments or meetings. Board members can participate in any of the following ways:

  • Teacher Surveys - Periodically throughout the year, we rely on our board members for suggestions and feedback. Surveys range from informal telephone chats and email exchanges, to brief written questionnaires. This input helps us continuously improve our publications to better meet the interests and needs of both you and your students.
  • References - We believe the best resource for a teacher is another teacher. Our board members are available to answer your questions and/or to discuss their own experiences with Teen Ink. Because our board is so large and includes representatives from most states, it is easy to find a Teen Ink board member near you.
  • Special Projects - Occasionally we have projects for which board members can volunteer their time. Examples include the development of our Teacher's Guide and participation in our Book Evaluation projects. Participation is completely voluntary and time commitment is up to the individual teacher.
Advisory Board Members

The following is a partial list of Teacher Advisory Board members. Feel free to contact them with your questions.

AK    Ms. Johnston - Tanana Middle - ejohnston@northstar.k12.ak.us

AK    Ms. Vander Zwaag - Cyber Lynx - clynxdel@wildak.net

AL    Ms. Beason - Spain Park High - abeason@hoover.k12.al.us

AL    Mr. Beavers - Cleveland High - stoneymbeavers@hotmail.com

AL    Ms. Holder - Southside High - holder310@yahoo.com

AL    Ms. Trimm - Alabama School Of Fine Arts - bhamwriter@aol.com

AR    Ms. Dollar - Gravette Upper Elementary - jdollar@lions.k12.ar.us

AR    Ms. Henry - Parkview Arts and Sciences Magnet High - sarah.henry@lrsd.org

AZ    Ms. Brenden - Dobson High - scbrende@mpsaz.org

AZ    Ms. Bykowski - Cortez High - justmontage@hotmail.com

AZ    Ms. Christensen Gould - Catalina High Magnet - mchristie@aol.com

AZ    Ms. Green - Washington High - jgreen@guhsdaz.org

AZ    Mr. Begay - Rockpoint Community School - tokarz@rpcs.bia.edu

AZ    Ms. Martin - Washington High - lfeaglerm@hotmail.com

AZ    Ms. Moriarty - Bourgade Catholic High - Mbmarizona@aol.com

AZ    Ms. Scheibli - Nogales High - scheibli@nusd.k12.az.us

AZ    Ms. Silverwind - Center for Academic Success - msilverwind@cpic-cas.org

CA    Ms. Bechtel - Gaspar De Portola Middle School - kbechtel@mail.sandi.net

CA    Ms. Bradfield - March Mountain High - vbradfield@mvusd.k12.ca.us

CA    Ms. Brown - Hemet High - lbrown75.hhs@gaggle.net

CA    Mr. Coccari - Arvin High - mcoccari@khsd.k12.ca.us

CA    Ms. Dickey - Estancia High - mdickey@nmusd.k12.ca.us

CA    Ms. Griswold - High Tech High - jgriswold@hightechhigh.org

CA    Ms. Feighery - Valencia High - vsm111@aol.com

CA    Ms. Fletcher - Mayfair High - afletcher@busb.k12.ca.us

CA    Mr. Harton - Dos Palos High - rharton@dhp.dpol.net

CA    Mr. Heinze - Muirlands Middle - mheinze@sandi.net

CA    Ms. Isley - San Bernardino High - ateacherextraordinaire@yahoo.com

CA    Ms. Jewett - Williams Middle - mjewett@williams.k12.ca.us

CA    Ms. Labare - Kraemer Middle - clabare@pylusd.k12.ca.us

CA    Ms. Owens - East Nicolaus High - bobo@cwnet.com

CA    Ms. Rogers - San Diego High - nancyrogers@cox.net

CO    Ms. Symmes - Poudre High - ksymmes@psd.k12.co.us

CO    Ms. Marsh - Lesher Junior High - mmarsh@psd.k12.co.us

CT    Ms. Ammerman - Bristol Eastern High - sisterdot@home.com

CT    Mr. Bartels - E.T. Grasso Southeastern Reg. Voc. Tech. - donald.bartels@po.state.ct.us

CT    Ms. Brennan - Stamford High - ddrugge@optonline.net

CT    Ms. Epifanio - Weston Middle - danagoetz@westonk12_ct.com

CT    Ms. Keane - Griswold High - nkeane@griswold.k12.ct.us

CT    Ms. Lovell - Mercy High - ALovell@Wesleyan.edu

CT    Ms. Pallanti - Jonathan Law High - dpallanti@snet.net

CT    Ms. Pacifico - Norwalk High - warner06@aol.com

CT    Ms. DeSantis - Fitch Senior High - jdesantis@groton.k12.ct.us

DC    Ms. Tolson - Cardozo Senior High - tolsonsm@hotmail.com

DC    Mr. Cunningham - Washington Math, Science and Tech - teachurman@aol.com

DE    Ms. Dick - Delaware Military Academy - tara.dick@dma.k12.de.us

DE    Ms. Zerbe - John Dickinson High. - kristen.zerbe@redclay.k12.de.us

FL    Mr. Boggus - Nova High - dangilo@hotmail.com

FL    Ms. Casabianca - Southwest Middle - CasabiancaD@brevard.k12.fl.us

FL    Ms. Evans - Out of Door Academy - levans@oda.edu

FL    Mr. Ford - South Dade Senior - Profford@aol.com

FL    Mr. Grinder - Royal Palm Beach High - kimgrinder@mindspring.com

FL    Ms. Mc Lean - Key West High - mcleank@monroe.k12.fl.us

FL    Mr. Pellerin - Labelle High - pelkir@aol.com

FL    Ms. Wise - Columbia High - wise_c@firn.edu

GA    Ms. Brown - Callaway High - browncb@troup.org

GA    Ms. Crow - Druid Hills High - sherrie_b_crow@fc.dekalb.k12.ga.us

GA    Ms. Higgins - Valley Point Middle - ahiggins@whitfield.k12.ga.us

GA    Ms. Joiner - Johnson County Board of Ed. - shirley_joiner@johnson.k12.ga.us

GA    Ms. Proctor - Thomson High - proctora@mcduffie.k12.ga.us

GA    Ms. Rivers - Vidalia High - riversbeverly@hotmail.com

GA    Ms. Williams - Early County Middle - ecmteacher@alltel.net

GU    Ms. Abaday - JFK High - abaday@ite.net

HI    Ms. Canham - Kamehameha Secondary - rucanham@ksbe.edu

HI    Ms. Fujii - Kaiser High - dfujii@aol.com

ID    Ms. Warne - South Fremont High - BONNIEW@SD215.K12.ID.US

IL    Ms. Barnes - Oswego High - donnaB905@aol.com

IL    Ms. Biancofiore - Walther Lutheran high - gabriella_biancofiore@walther.com

IL    Ms. Cichowski - Carl Schurz High - cichowski60@aol.com

IL    Ms. Guilfoyle - Romerville High - guilfoyls@vvsd.org

IL    Ms. Meyer - Glenbard East High - littelldg@aol.com

IL    Ms. O'Neill - Prospect High - tbuczins@dist214.k12.il.us

IL    Mr. Schwartz - Lemont High - marks@mail.lemont.k12.il.us

IL    Ms. Stutz - Wauconda High - valstutz@yahoo.com

IL    Ms. Wilson - Willowbrook High - dwilson@district88.net

IN    Mr. Baechtold - Eastern high - tbaechtold@egreene.k12.in.us

IN    Ms. Loser - Bloomington High North - kloser@indiana.edu

IN    Ms. Judson - Concord High - cjudson@concord.k12.in.us

IN    Ms. Junker - Indian Springs Middle - jjunker@wccs.k12.in.us

IN    Ms. Mcqueen - Honey Creek Middle - dwebster@indy.net

KS    Mr. Hutchens - Wellington Jr. High - chutchens@usd353.com

KS    Ms. Fellers - El Dorado Usd #490 - PFELLERS@ELDORADOSCHOOLS.ORG

KS    Ms. Sigwing - Piper High - Lsigwing@piper.usd203.k12.ks.us

KY    Mr. Collier - Campbell County High - Richard.Collier@Campbell.kyschools.us

KY    Ms. Moore - Taylor County Middle - rmoore@taylorcounty.k12.ky.us

KY    Ms. Thompson - Central Hardin High - kthompso@hardin.k12.ky.us

LA    Ms. Thompson - Destrehan High - lynnthom@conflict-resolutions.com

MA    Ms. Andrews - South Middle - maryanneandrews@brocktonpublicschools.com

MA    Ms. Bee - Attleboro High - AMOBee@aol.com

MA    Ms. Belanger - Holbrook Jr. Sr. High - belanger@holbrook.k12.ma.us

MA    Ms. Berman - Scituate High - bermjac@aol.com

MA    Mr. Billman-Golemme - South Hadley High Library - pbillmang@shschools.com

MA    Ms. Forte Doyle - Chatham High - LForteDoyle@Chatham.k12.ma.us

MA    Ms. Hamilton - Stoughton High - Jham@massed.net

MA    Ms. Herbert - Attleboro High - AMOBee@aol.com

MA    Ms. Leary - East Boston High - abroder@hotmail.com

MA    Ms. Leete - Harwich High - leete@harwich.edu

MA    Ms. Macrae - St. Vincent's School - jamacrae@earthlink.net

MA    Mr. Masters - Pioneer Valley Regional high - vlearnserv@aol.com

MA    Ms. Noteware - Brookline High - sally_noteware@brookline.mec.edu

MA    Ms. Petzold - Minnechaug Regional High - doconnor@hwrsd.org

MA    Ms. Spinelli - Garfield Middle - lispinelli@mediaone.net

MA    Ms. Slep - Keefe Tech - vslep@jpkeefehs.org

MA    Ms. Townes - Pentucket Regional High - young@prsd.org

MD    Mr. French - The Midtown Academy - bigbluedf@aol.com

MD    Ms. Gardener - Elkridge Branch Library - gardnera@hclibrary.org

ME    Ms. Landry - Carrabec High - dlandry@carrabec.sad74.k12.me.us

ME    Mr. Marshall - Old Orchard Beach High - bmarshall@hs.oob.k12.me.us

ME    Mr. Stromm - Fryeburg Academy - strommy@cyberdude.com

MI    Mr. Adams - Warren Mott High - adamsp@mail.wcs.k12.mi.us

MI    Mr. Ball - Northfield Township Library - mball@northfieldtownshiplibrary.com

MI    Mr. Fowler - Boyne City High - Fowler@Boyne.k12.mi.us

MI    Ms. Holms - Comstock Northeast Middle - cprosith@aol.com

MI    Ms. Kelsey - Brandon High - kkelsey@brandon.k12.mi.us

MI    Ms. Swartout - Clarkston Senior High - denstalg@clarkston.k12.mi.us

MI    Mr. Schnotala - Wyoming Park High - schnotala@aol.com

MN    Ms. Colman - Lincoln High - jkcolman@yahoo.com

MN    Mr. Honsey - Stewartville High - dshonsey@aol.com

MO    Ms. Bolin - Mt. Vernon Treatment Center - teacher_suzanne@yahoo.com

MO    Ms. Kupferer - South Technical High - jkupferer@ssd.k12.mo.us

MO    Ms. Nefzger - Northland Career Center - nefzgerm@pcriii.k12.mo.us

MO    Mr. Rowley - Maplewood-RH High - d.rowley@mrhsd.k12.mo.us

MS    Ms. Thames - Alexander Jr. High - thames@telepak.net

MT    Ms. Pickett - East Middle - pickettdj@butte.k12.mt.us

NC    Ms. McDonald - Tryon Middle - mcdonlangarts@yahoo.com

NC    Ms. Rusyniak - A.L. Brown High - karusyniak@yahoo.com

ND    Ms. Haugse - Four Winds Community High - Marlene.Haugse@sendit.nodak.edu

ND    Ms. Hunt - Dunseith High - Carmelita.Hunt@sendit.nodak.edu

NE    Ms. Shanahan - Papillion La Vista High - MSHANAHAN@paplv.esu3.org

NH    Mr. Bailey - Merrimack Valley High - Rbailey@mv.k12.NH.US

NH    Ms. Campbell - Profile Jr/ Sr High - lyndapayette@msn.com

NH    Mr. Gaydos - Timberlane High - gaitorjohn@aol.com

NH    Ms. Littlefield - Somersworth High - shslib@rcn.com

NH    Ms. Nelson - Winnisquam Regional - BBlinn@winnisquam.k12.nh.us

NH    Ms. Riley - Somersworth High - criley@hs.somersworth.k12.nh.us

NH    Mr. Wazlaw - Exeter Area High - JFERG315@aol.com

NH    Ms. Wyldemoon - Hillsboro - Deering High - wyldemoon@conknet.com

NJ    Ms. Allen - Charles Lewis Middle - Stgallen1@aol.com

NJ    Ms. Baskerville - Barringer High - tonibville@msn.com

NJ    Ms. Drennan - Millburn High - craps24@aol.com

NJ    Mr. Fahey - Woodglen High - jfahey@lebtwpk8.org

NJ    Ms. Foster - Haddon Heights High - FOSTERN@hhsd.k12.nj.us

NJ    Ms. Jessop - Lacey Township High - jessopm@aol.com

NJ    Mr. Landy - Harrison High - HAMMERHEAD77@AOL.COM

NJ    Mr. Larsen - Terrill Middle - martystar@aol.com

NJ    Ms. Merkle - Dover Middle - hmerkle@dover-nj.org

NJ    Ms. Rupprecht - Randolph High - ejmcc@nac.net

NM    Ms. Borges - Mesa Alta Junior High - elizabeth_aldrich@bsin.k12.nm.us

NM    Mr. Rucker - Tohatchi High - crucker@toh.gmcs.k12.nm.us

NM    Dr. Woal - Gallup Central High - welcome@bluebead.com

NV    Ms. Gallagher - Pershing County High -

NY    Ms. Davies - North Rose Wolcott High - adavies@nrwcs.org

NY    Ms. Cohen - Richard R. Green High - pscohen@ufttc.org

NY    Ms. Dunigan - Connetquat High - MSDDUNIGAN@aol.com

NY    Ms. Greenwood - Rippowam Cisqua School - cathy_greenwood@RCSNY.ORG

NY    Mr. Hadzima - Bellport High - ghadzima@southcountry.org

NY    Mr. Kavanah - Iona Prep - kav86@ionaprep.org

NY    Mr. Lyon - Suffern High - casarellaG@ramnet.k12.ny.us

NY    Ms. Martin - Lansing High - omghily@aol.com

NY    Ms. Oriani - Garden City High - orianic@gcufsd.net

NY    Ms. Parker - Tappan Zee High - SMCMANE@socsd.org

NY    Mr. Roberts - Frontier Central High - thomasgroberts@hotmail.com

NY    Mr. Rosinski - Beekmantown Central - steverosinski@hotmail.com

NY    Ms. Tavolacci - Clarkstown North - mquirk@warwick.net

NY    Ms. Waterhouse - Stuart M. Townsend Middle - waterhousej@hlcs.org

NY    Mr. Wilson - Auburn High - Preston_Wilson@auburn.cnyric.org

NY    Mr. Wilson - Germantown Central - bjwilson@germantown.k12.ny.us

OH    Mr. Alander - Winton Woods Middle - ALANDER_M@HCCANET.ORG

OH    Ms. Bosch - Washington Junior High - loribeth2@aol.com

OH    Ms. Baltrinic - Ellet High - bbaltrin@akron.k12.oh.us

OH    Mr. Ciborek - R.B. Chamberlin Middle - ciborek@aol.com

OH    Ms. Coker - Mary L. Cook Public Library cokerjo@oplin.lib.oh.us

OH    Mr. Edgecombe - Auburn Career Center - medgecombe@auburncc.org

OH    Ms. Hauck - Fairfield Middle - vicky.hauck@gmail.com

OH    Ms. Herman - Sebring Mckinley High - sebr_nlh@access-k12.org

OH    Ms. Kelbley - Centerburg High - kelbly_k@treca.org

OH    Ms. Laukhuf-Fitch - Otsego Junior High - gajjfitch@thewavz.com

OH    Ms. Oliver - LSC Youngstown - Darlene.Oliver@lifeskillscenters.com

OH    Ms. Ruggieri - Boardman High - boar_car@ACCESS-K12.org

OH    Ms. Spencer - Crestwood High - CSPENCER31@JUNO.COM

OH    Ms. Weaver - Indian Valley High - weaverh@yahoo.com

OK    Ms. Applegate - Eufaula High - c21applegate@hotmail.com

OR    Mr. Markealli - Poynter Middle - markealj@hsd.k12.or.us

PA    Ms. Fletcher - Mohawk High - pfletcher@mohawk.k12.pa.us

PA    Mr. Murphy - Mastbaum Tech - jmurphy@phila.k12.pa.us

PA    Ms. Olen - High For Creative & Performing Arts - jan220@aol.com

PA    Ms. Peightal - Cathedral Prep. School - SFrancis@cathedral-prep.com

PA    Ms. Perry - North Hills Junior High - perrys@nhsd.k12.pa.us

PA    Ms. Rainey - Aliquippa Middle - drainey@aliquippa.k12.pa.us

PA    Ms. Roberts - Du Bois Area High - miltonroberts@hotmail.com

PA    Ms. Swan - Twin Valley High - jswan@twinval.k12.pa.us

RI    Mr. Hogue - Mt. St. Charles Academy - dhogue@ici.net

RI    Ms. Munzer - Pilgrim High - MCrow72168@aol.com

RI    Mr. Tessier - Mt. St. Charles Academy - dhogue@ici.net

SC    Ms. Gwinn - Liberty High - gwinnlp@pickens.k12.sc.us

TN    Ms. Jellison - Watertown High - ljell39857@aol.com

TN    Mr. Walker - Columbia Central High - walkerd5@ten-nash.ten.k12.tn.us

TX    Ms. Busald - Albright Middle - cmbusald@albrightmail.alief.isd.tenet.edu

TX    Ms. Christian - Krum High - christianc@esc11.net

TX    Ms. Dye - Faubion Middle - DDYE@MCKINNEYISD.NET

TX    English Dept. - San Angelo Central High - bohensky@earthlink.net

TX    Ms. Gonzalez - Cathedral School of St. Mary - jgonzalez@stmaryscathedral.org

TX    Ms. Hall - Eisenhower High - hallch@swbell.net

TX    Ms. Johnson - Albright Middle School Library - cmbusald@albrightmail.alief.isd.tenet.edu

TX    Ms. Jones - Clements High - cj_school@hotmail.com

TX    Ms. Long - Wilson Middle - mlong@pisd.edu

TX    Ms. Lucas - Spring High - WLUCAS@SPRINGISD.ORG

TX    Ms. Moore - Grapevine High - julie.moore@gcisd.net

TX    Ms. Morrow - Lee High - DMORROW@HOUSTON.ISD.ORG

TX    Ms. Rickert - Ringgold Middle - lmr25@cornell.edu

TX    Ms. Thompson - Hamilton Jr. High - GTHOMPSON@HAMILTON.K12.TX.US

TX    Ms. Schaefer - Canyon High - jschaefer@swbell.net

TX    Ms. Syblik - Mesquite High - rsyblik@mesquiteisd.org

TX    Ms. Valverde - Dwight Middle - rvalverd@southsanisd.net

TX    Mr. Wallace - Denton High - mwallace@dentonisd.org

UT    Ms. Dickison - Manila High - bdickison@dsdf.org

UT    Ms. Painter - Kanab High - paintert@m.kane.k12.ut.us

UT    Ms. Spackman - Murray High - cspack@mury.k12.ut.us

VA    Ms. Debernardo - Patrick Henry High - sbedall@hanover.k12.va.us

VA    Ms. Gibbon - Family Education Center - egibbon@teacher.mail.arlington.k12.va.us

VA    Ms. Green - James W. Robinson Jr. Secondary School - Lisa.Green@fcps.edu

VA    Ms. Hubbard - Strasburg High - eehubbard@shenandoah.k12.va.us

VA    Ms. Maddox - Linkhorne Middle - MADDOAP@LINKHORNEMIDDLE.LYNCHBURG.ORG

VA    Ms. Renard - Colonial Forge High - msrenard@yahoo.com

VT    Mr. Mc Kaig - Black River High - cmckaig@brhsMs. org

WA    Ms. Brimmer - River's Edge High - denise_brimmer@rsd.edu

WA    Ms. Cowley - Stevens Middle - Melissa_Cowley@pasd.wednet.edu

WA    Ms. Neshyba - Frontier Junior High - kneshyba@egreen.wednet.edu

WA    Mr. Osborne - Evergreen High - mosborne@egreen.wednet.edu

WA    Ms. Valentine - Charles Wright Academy - lvalentine@charleswright.org

WI    Mr. Backes - Brown Deer High - abackes@bdsd.k12.wi.us

WI    Ms. Felske - East Troy High - cfelske@easttroy.k12.wi.us

WI    Mr. Halle - Marshfield Jr. High - haller@marshfield.k12.wi.us

WI    Ms. Hansen - Port Washington High - Nora.Hansen@pwssd.k12.wi.us

WI    Ms. Jorgensen - Arrowhead High - jorgensene@ahs.k12.wi.us

WI    Ms. Nagel - Park Falls High - dcnagel@charter.net

WI    Mr. Roherty - Bay Port High - MICHROHE@hssd.k12.wi.us

WI    Mr. West - Olson Middle - Scott_West@fc.mauston.k12.wi.us

WV    Ms. Burger - St. Albans High - eburger@access.k12.wv.us

WV    Ms. McCants - Hedgesville High - rmccants@access.k12.wv.us

WV    Ms. White - Burch High - V_WHITE25696@YAHOO.COM



Smith Summer

Parkland Speaks

Campus Compare