The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

March 24, 2011
Twenty-four kids. One survivor. Suzanne Collin's The Hunger Games is a fast-paced dystopian novel set in a not-so-bright future. In the nation of Panem, the equivalent of today's United States, there are twelve districts. To discourage rebellion, each district is forced to send two "tributes" to compete in the Hunger Games each year. These tributes battle to the death within an immense arena while all of Panem is made to watch on the television. When Katniss Everdeen's younger sister is chosen to compete for District Twelve, Katniss has the courage to take her place. Will Katniss be the one survivor of the Hunger Games? What of the male tribute from District Twelve, Peeta? What will be his fate? Does he really love Katniss or is it all an act? In this riveting novel, the destruction of children is a yearly entertainment. And there is one truth that the people of Panem know: this must change.

Post a Comment

Be the first to comment on this article!

Site Feedback