Magazine, website & books written by teens since 1989

Skateboarder Christopher Westhoff This work has been published in the Teen Ink monthly print magazine.

Unknown

   Christopher Westhoff is
a 21-year-old college student who has his life all planned out. Realizing his talent at any early
age, he decided to start his own skating company building skateboards and other equipment. He is an
amazing person who inspires many and will soon be recognized for his talent and effort
bringing skateboarding into people's lives.


What made you
decide to start a company?


I wanted to expand my graphic design
skills and help out the skateboarding community. I also wanted to get boards
cheaply.


How old were you when you started your
company?


I was 19 years old.


Do
you design your boards?


Yes. Everything is done by me, including the
whole marketing process.


Who is your role model or
inspiration?


This might sound egotistical, but I would have to say
me. Only because I like to challenge myself and I'm inspired by the general public to build up my
reputation.


Who has had the greatest impact
on you?


I would say society itself has had the greatest impact on me.
I do things for myself, to better my social standing for the future. It is beginning to pay
off.


What are your future
goals?


I would like to expand my company to other states and have my
company for my main job while I'm in college.


Do you plan to
make your company your career after college?


I would like to see
Frequency Skateboards expand to that level, but I am not currently planning on pursuing it full
time after college. Instead I would like to get a job working for a graphic design firm where I
would create ads and magazine layouts.


At what age do you
plan to retire, and to where?


I plan to retire as soon as possible,
unless I really like the work I'm doing. I would then begin to do whatever I wanted at the time to
make extra money. Possibly have some sort of small shop.


What
do you like to do in your free time?


I normally work during my free
time, but I also manage to spend some time skateboarding, surfing the web, or hanging out with my
wonderful girlfriend.


What is a normal day for
you?


I wake up, clean my room and myself, and then either go to my
9-5 job or work on my side jobs. Then I normally check and respond to email, and get errands done.
If possible, I hang out with my girlfriend. If I am unable to go out, I spend my time thinking of
new ideas and reading the news. I don't like to watch television, unless it's a movie or the Fox
Sunday night line-up. I then go to bed, but I constantly wake up to write down ideas I come up with
while I'm sleeping.


If you could change one thing about the
world, what would it be?


I would make everybody in the world use the
metric system, or speak English.


Where do you see yourself in
20 years?


I see myself with a family and my own graphic design
firm.


Do you have any last word?


People need to quit stressin'.



This work has been published in the Teen Ink monthly print magazine. This piece has been published in Teen Ink’s monthly print magazine.




Post a Comment

Be the first to comment on this article!




Site Feedback